Office Decor Inspiration

When you have a business that is run mostly over the phone and through email, it doesn’t always make sense to rent office space.  My studio is based in my home and I love it.  It’s convenient and over the years I’ve taken steps to ensure my office life is separate from my home life with the family.  One thing I haven’t taken the time to do is make it my own.  Since we moved 1.5 years ago, I’ve been in “go mode” – working non-stop just to keep ahead of things.  To the point where my walls are still that once-white/yellowish paint color that someone painted 15+ years ago.  This month (fingers crossed) is a little slower than usual and I couldn’t be happier.  It’s finally time to get my office organized and decorated in a way that will make me more functional, organized and most importantly…happy.

My Goals:
  • Add appropriate amount of counter space for computer and an area to package supplies, assemble products, etc.
  • Add natural colors to the room – browns, neutrals, greens, whites.
  • Create storage that makes sense.
  • Paint, paint, paint, paint, paint (yeah – paint!).
What I have:
  • 10′-7″ x 7′ room
  • 4′ x 2.5′ closet with no doors
  • Three pine table tops (that make a 10′-7″ counter)
  • Misc. bookshelves and filing cabinets that do not match
  • The most uncomfortable/horrible office chair (bad for person who sits at a computer all day!)
What I want:
  • A combination of what you see below.  Specifically, the cubby shelves above the desk, a long counter area on my 10′-7″ wall (I already have a natural wood counter that works well), underdesk storage/drawers/filing that matches, space for packaging/assembly, and a comfortable armchair style chair.

 

 

One thought on “Office Decor Inspiration

  1. 2012 is your year for this! I’m certain you can make your space more inviting and inspiring. I’m sure you can put tons of storage in the closet so that it’s tucked back away but still accessible. Looking forward to seeing how it all turns out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

