Milestones and What’s Next

June is a big month of milestones for me.  Of course it’s the official start of summer, Father’s day and graduation time.  But personally next week is my birthday.  Then there’s the 10th anniversary of my move to Washington, DC and the week after that is my 6th anniversary at my “other job.”  Working in theater, this time of year alway represents the wind down of the current season – the last show is underway, people start leaving for grad school or other jobs, and everyone starts thinking about what the next season will hold.  This June is going to bring lots of changes to my family and business.

In 2 weeks, I’ll be taking a break from my benefit welding, 401k paying, weekly paycheck supplying job.  It’s a blessing and a curse.  I’m going to have to work a lot more to make up for the lose in income, and tighten down on my personal and business spending.  But by designing full-time without the stress of the second job, I’ll be able to take on more clients and give more focus to my projects.  I’m hoping to really have time to sit down and be creative.  There are design idea’s I’ve been hoping to tackle for a while now; I just haven’t had the time for new product development.  I’m hoping this summer will bring such development.

I’m also looking forward to spending time with my family.  With my current work schedule, my husband tends to forget what I look like.  And my brother is spending the summer a mere 3 hours from here so I’m looking forward to visiting the Blue Ridge Theatre Festival in beautiful Amherst, VA a lot (if you’d never been to that next of the woods, it’s GORGEOUS and the perfect summer weekend getaway – lots of wineries, breweries, theatre and stunning countryside to see).

So, we’ll see what kind of changes and excitement June brings me this year.  It’s sort of like my own personal new year’s celebration.  Time to celebrate what I’ve done and begin focusing on what this next year is going to bring.

Leave a Reply

