Recipes / Eggplant with Chicken and Goat Cheese

Now that I’m on maternity leave, I am home a lot more than I used to be. In the past my husband did a good amount of the cooking mostly because he’s a good cook, he was home more than I was and he enjoyed it. I never used to particularly *enjoy* cooking, but I’d tolerate it to not go completely hungry.

Now all of that has changed. I’ve actually begun to enjoy cooking not only the basics, but tweaking recipes and inventing some new dishes. I’m kicking myself for not snapping a pic, but here is what I created last night. I prepared it with garlic roasted cauliflower and it was goooooood! If you’re vegetarian, this would be awesome without the chicken too:

Eggplant with chicken and goat cheese

2 eggplants
2 chicken breasts
8 oz goat cheese
1 can artichoke hearts
8-10 large black olives, sliced
1 tomato, diced
1 tbsp olive oil
Salt
Pepper
Basil

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Slice eggplants in half longways. Spoon out insides, dice and set aside. Brush olive oil on all sides if eggplant boats. Sprinkle salt and pepper. Place in baking dish or cookie sheet (use cooking spray or oil to prevent sticking). Bake for 5 minutes and remove.

Cook and dice chicken. Mix cooked chicken, diced tomatoes, sliced olives, goat cheese, eggplant insides. Sprinkle salt, pepper and basil to taste.

Scoop mixture into eggplant boats. Bake for 15 minutes.

Prep time: 15-20 minutes.
Cook time: 20 minutes.
Serves 4.

2 thoughts on “Recipes / Eggplant with Chicken and Goat Cheese

    • I’ve just started using goat cheese – but it definitely melts well and has a stronger flavor to it I’ve found. I might have to try it with mozzarella next time, just to see!

      Like

Leave a Reply

