Throwback Thursday // Will Ferrell Invitation

I realized there are lots of designs I haven’t shared because I was just too busy to get them up on the web, or because the event information was private and I didn’t want to announce it to the world.  I plan on sharing some of these projects with my own take on a popular social media idea of “Throwback Thursdays.”

First up is the Kennedy Center’s 2011 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, celebrating comedian Will Ferrell.  When we met to talk about the invitation design, my contact had basically the exact same notes scribbled down as I did.  We knew we could go fun and a little over the top because of who the honoree was.  We landed on the idea of a smart, manly piece with stripes and argyle, in shades of blue, white and grey.  Because of the length of information that was required to be included, the invitation needed to be hefty.  I thought about those great Mad Magazine covers that I loved as a kid.  You know the ones…you fold the back in a certain way and it creates another image?  Well, we didn’t get quite as complicated, but we did create an invitation that started as a 5″ x 7″ piece (see photo #1) and opened to be 5″ x 23.5″ – nearly 2 feet long (see photos #2 & 3).

IMG_3429

IMG_3426

IMG_3416

The text is navy blue and I put a fun blue and grey argyle print on the back – which we used along with pinstripes for a lot of the actual event pieces.  I paired it with a smoke grey envelope and wrap around label plus a navy and grey reply card and a light blue reply envelope.

Leave a Reply

