Throwback Thursday // 9/11 Ten Years Later

It’s hard to believe the 13th anniversary of 9/11 is next week.  I always equate this timing with my graduation from college and moving to Washington, DC.  I have lived in the DC area for 12 1/2 years now.  In another 2 years, I will have lived here longer than the small town I grew up in.  Like  many people, every year around this time I remember where I was and what I was doing and how much has happened in the world and in my own life since then.  So when I was given the opportunity to design for a 10th anniversary event, it gave me a lot to think about.

On September 8th, 2011 The New Republic and The Kennedy Center hosted an evening of remembrance and reflection.  I designed the branding for the event as well as the formal invitation and various digital pieces.  Whenever you’re asked to design for an event of this nature, there so many things to take into consideration.  We needed a logo that would be symbolic, patriotic and respectful, but also not too dark or sorrowful.

9-11 ten years later (c) hitchcock creative

9-11 Ten Years Later (c) Daneil Schwartz

Photos by Sarah Hitchcock Burzio, Daniel Schwartz

We thought this would be the perfect time to utilize the traditional red and blue colors of our flag, and I used a soft grey background instead of a bright white or somber black.  I specifically designed it to have large amounts of grey space around the logo.  In the end, the logo took on a US flag shape and feel and the 10 horizontal lines represent the “ten years later.”

Leave a Reply

